A Message From Dr. Azure President of Sisseton Wahpeton College

Thank you for visiting Sisseton Wahpeton College

Hau Mitakuyapi,

Thank you for visiting Sisseton Wahpeton College’s website and considering us as your next step to higher education. Sisseton Wahpeton College (SWC) was founded by the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate in the late 1970’s and was accredited in 1990. During forty-plus years, the college has graduated over 1000 students in certificates and diplomas ranging from carpentry to Dakota studies. More recently, the college was successful in being granted approval to offer two new baccalaureate degrees in behavioral science and business administration. SWC is excited and expects our first new graduates in these programs in 2024!


The BOT is made up of seven Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate (SWO) tribal members, one from each of the seven districts of the Lake Traverse Reservation. In addition, there is one Ex Officio who is appointed to the Board of Trustees by the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate Tribal Council. The Board of Trustees are seated by the BOT and can serve many four-year terms. In fact, SWC has members of the board who have been members for over 20 years!


The website you are viewing was recently launched in 2022 and our website maintenance person has been diligently working on taking care of any issues that you may encounter as you browse from one location to the next, so please bear with our new construction. We hope you like the website and it allows you to see some of the many programs and opportunities SWC has to provide!


The past two and one-half years have been very challenging times for SWC, our students and staff, and the SWO community. We continue to face trials, but I believe we are resilient people who will prevail through the harshest of times. If you have been hesitant to take a class or enroll in a program, I encourage you to do so as soon as possible. There has never been a better time to attend Sisseton Wahpeton College! I look forward to seeing you soon!


Mitakuye owasin,


Lane Azure, Ph.D.
President Sisseton Wahpeton College